Fayetteville Chamber, Economic Development Leaders Recognize Rep. Szoka and Rep. Saine for Leadership on Clean Energy

With more local NC chamber and economic development leaders recognizing that clean energy means growing jobs and investments, it might come as no surprise that several recently stepped forward with “Clean Energy Champion” awards for legislators leading the charge in this area.

Christine Michaels, President and CEO of the Fayetteville Chamber of Commerce, presented a Clean Energy Champion award to Rep. John Szoka (R-45, Cumberland County), a passionate advocate of the $7 billion clean energy industry in NC.

As Conference Chair and Senior Chairman of the Energy and Public Utilities Committee, Rep. Szoka was central this year to the introduction of House Bill 589, “Competitive Energy Solutions for NC,” the state’s first comprehensive energy legislation in more than 10 years. The bill was recently signed into law by Gov. Cooper.

“The Fayetteville Chamber is proud to present this award to Rep. Szoka, who is helping grow the economic development opportunities in clean energy for the people of Fayetteville and across the state,” said Michaels.

Lincoln Economic Development Association Executive Director, Cliff Brumfield, presented a Clean Energy Champion award to Rep. Jason Saine (R-97, Lincoln County.)

“I’m grateful to receive this award from local chamber and economic development leaders,” said Rep. Saine. “Your voices truly matter on these issues, and it’s great to work together to advance clean energy jobs and investments in our state.”

Rep. Saine, Senior Chairman of the House Finance Committee, has been a consistent supporter of clean energy in the State House, and several times has provided the leadership to move the ball forward on energy policy in his pursuit to bring cutting edge technologies to NC.